27 February 2013


ERA_BlogImage_RuetteJudges of the new European Rail Congress Awards are encouraging operators, suppliers and managers in the European rail sector to submit their entries for the 19 different award categories.

Chair of the Awards judging panel, Brian Simpson MEP, who is also Chair of the European Parliament’s Transport Committee, said: “We are looking forward to seeing evidence of excellence and innovation across a wide spectrum of railway professionalism on the European rail network. Winners of these prestigious awards will truly be representing best practice in the European rail sector, especially given it will be the views and opinions of highly regarded peers that determine the award winners.”

To make an entry for any of the 19 award categories, submit your evidence online at by the 19 April 2013. You can also find advice about how to form your entry on the website.

Other members of the judging panel include EU Transport Commissioner Siim Kallas as well as the following members of the European Parliament’s Transport Committee: Dominique Riquet MEP, Said El Khadraoui MEP, Ines Ayala Sender MEP and Debora Serracchiani MEP.

Supporting the judging panel is an advisory technical panel chaired by Matthias Ruete, Director-General, European Commission, DG MOVE with advisers in a personal capacity Libor Lochman and Philippe Citroen; and advisers in an official capacity from the European Passenger Federation (EPF)
European Rail Freight Association (ERFA)
European Rail Infrastructure Managers (EIM)
European Railway Agency (ERA).